a thrift store revamp

I love love love to shop, and l love hunting for bargains even more!  I’ve discovered that an afternoon at the thrift shop really fulfills my primal urge to gather the choicest nuts & berries (er…books, clothes and household goods)–its a total treasure hunt!

I don’t normally look for clothes for myself; being plus-size generally means not much thrifty selection.  I have no doubt there are some things my size hiding in the store, but when the clothing is sorted by color, I’m not searching through a bazillion size 6, 8 and 10s to find it!  I did find a super awesome, somewhat gaudy giant gold owl necklace the other day that I’m planning to incorporate that into my fall wardrobe, so that counts, right?!

I’ve also found some very cool baby wear for my friend E, who is the very first of my close friends to have taken the leap into motherhood, which is pretty darn exciting.  She was thrilled to find a giant box of sara-selected finds on her doorstep one day, so I admit I continue to keep my eye out for thrifty awesomeness for her new little one.

This little outfit is certainly nothing special, but it was just *begging* for some fun embellishment–seriously, it *made* me buy it. 🙂

I used a matching thread color to do a decorative stitch along the hem of the way-too-plain top. I then just did a simple straight stitch in the same pink along the bodice seam and neck trim, using my stitch-in-the-ditch foot for guidance and sewing about 1/8″ away from the original topstitching.  It definitely needed something to break up that sea of cream across the front–I’ve been practicing my free motion quilting and decided to give that a whirl and embroider my own design on the top.

I drew a floral pattern free hand using a disappearing ink pen, and set to work.  I will be the first to admit I am not the best at free motion; I haven’t had a lot of experience and its taking me a while to get the hang of it.  Despite that, I think it came out pretty well. And to someone who doesn’t sew, it probably looks just fine (at least my husband thought so!)

I’ll be taking this with me on my cross-country baby visit to meet E’s new little girl, along with some other, more exciting handmade goodness, which I’ll be blogging next week.

One thought on “a thrift store revamp

  1. Oh Sara, so beautiful! The hem is so cute, I want to eat it. Sneadbee is all ready to do a fashion runway (er.. lyingdown-way?) of your amazing creations. Can’t wait for you to get here!!

Leave a Reply

